The Sea Within

Creation: 2018


Having finished her highly acclaimed ‘triptych of the ecstatic body’ – comprising It’s going to get worse and worse and worse, my friend, AH/HA and We’re pretty fuckin’ far from okay – Lisbeth Gruwez is changing course.

The eruptive choreographies that established her reputation are now making space for incessantly swirling magma. The Sea Within is a magnetising dance performance in which Gruwez no longer wants to order the chaos, but lets the chaos create or become its own order. Still just as sharp and intense, but no longer zooming in on individuals, she lets ten dancers dissolve in a grand, breathing landscape.

For the first time in her career Gruwez is not dancing her own choreography but selected a group of ten female dancers. Ten powerful lotus flowers that are symbols of connection. Together, they bring a new, contemporary ritual in which the ‘we’ embraces the ‘I’.

As usual, Maarten Van Cauwenberghe is writing the score to this performance, assisted by Elko Blijweert and Bjorn Eriksson. Minimalistic synths and a tingling game with frequencies push their electronic sound design to the bottom of your senses.



A real and 100% female bomb of exceptional sensuality. The total commitment of the dancers, their ‘occupied’ bodies and their irradiant faces form a fascinating and magnetizing halo.

by Delphine Goater – Res Musica

Without forcing a certain discourse nor signing a certain manifesto on the female condition, Lisbeth Gruwez gives depth to the archetypes of humanity.

by Thomas Hahn – Dansercanalhistorique

The Sea Within is a pagan ceremony in honour of femininity. Lisbeth Gruwez created a group performance that retraces the epopee of women in hardly more than one hour, imitating the rhythm of their inland sea. (…) At the same time a sonorous landscape and a visual composition, it prompts the audience to a tribute to tribal womanhood and sorority.

by Audrey Santacroce – I/O Gazette